1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie here from Columbus. Some general ?s

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by paramountlawn, Jun 18, 2015.

1. paramountlawn

paramountlawn Junior Member

Hey all,

I am new to offering plowing for the coming winter. I recently got a 7.5 blizzard plow with the power hitch 1 and a salt dog spreader from a good friend and mowing client of mine all for trade for mowing services. I was already looking to purchase a truck with plow after last winter. I do alot of residential drives with snow throwers as well as two small commercial properties. I realized it was time to up my game and income.

Here are my ?'s

First i drive a 2001 ford f150 with a v8 5 speed long bed single cab. Now i know there is a lot of concern and arguing whether to use a 2wd vs 4wd. Mine is a 2wd. With looking for all the answers,, could my truck handle this plow?

I am currently looking to purchase a beater truck 4x4 or a flat bed, dump bed truck to use with the plow, but just in case i cant i would like to know. TIA

The plow i have did not come with the mount on the truck end. I have been to blizzards site to locate one. Is there any other places i may look for a used one. I tried ebay and craigslist already. I dont know what one i will need yet as i'm looking for a truck.

The plow came with everything but the feet. i know i can get these anywhere for relativity inexpensive. how necessary are they. I have seen some guys going with out them.

How do i charge for salt? I was thinking priced per pound spread.