1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie from MD-retirement planning/mid life crisis ??

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Snowproblems, Jan 6, 2017.

1. Snowproblems

Snowproblems Junior Member

I was motivated by my employer of 40+ years to take an early retirement on 12/15/16. I live in Howard County MD and have been plowing driveways with my ATV for ten years. I have been plowing part time for the last 4 years for a friend (with his truck) and just decided to buy a truck as part of my sudden retirement planning.

I'm pretty sure I'm about to take something that has been FUN and turn it into WORK but I can't help myself ! I'm not going to be good at sitting around the house and since I can't afford to go skiing every day I thought this would be a good plan. I spent the last 40 years in maintenance at a manufacturing plant so I've seen a lot of carnage along the way and broken stuff doesn't scare me that much any more.

I lust bought a 2000 GMC C6500 and am having a 9' H.D. Western plow installed on it next Saturday. The GVWR is under 26K so I don't need a CDL even though I've had one since they were introduced 10-20 years ago. I've got a spotless driving record and this will be a one man / one truck operation.

I totally understand the commercial policy on the truck but the additional General Liability that covers the plowed area after I leave boggles my mind. I suppose if someone slips on an unplowed lot they could not sue for as much money ?? I imagine this started about the same time that lawyers started advertising on TV ?