1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie experience

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by stg454, Jan 12, 2011.

1. stg454

stg454 Senior Member

This is my first year plowing. Up until this storm all has been well. Had my first issue this morning while plowing out after the ongoing big storm we are in. Left early this morning, but not early enough. Came out to over a foot of snow. Made one push up my steep driveway and almost got stuck. :mad: Went over to plow our friends driveway. Made one push up the driveway and turned to push into a pile. My truck slid and while trying to get out got real stuck.:realmad: Luckily another plow driver was going by and stopped and lent me a hand to dig out and throw some salt sand under my wheels. Lucily I got out with no problems. A big thank you to those of you with more experience that are willing to stop and help those of us that are new plowing. I will be sure to return the favor whenever I can.

Other than getting out to plow when there is less snow on the ground, are there any suggestions for dealing with heavy snow? I prefer not to get stuck again. Its kind of embarassing after all. I have brand new tires on my Dodge Ram 2500 plow truck too.

2. LoweJ82

LoweJ82 Junior Member

try pushing in 2 passes? half each pass, don't drop the plow all the way down.

What you driving?

3. vinces designs

vinces designs Junior Member

add studs or get weight in the back

4. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

tire chains as a last resort

5. dforbes

dforbes Senior Member

Leave earlier. Push with the storm. We always push with every 3 inches. Good luck.

6. theonlybull

theonlybull Senior Member