1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie e 47?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by fga, Jan 24, 2004.

1. fga

fga Member

I'm new to polwing and don't know the mechanics of the system. I bought a dump truck and the plow was on it. The model is a myer electro e 47. My problem is, when its raised, it slowly would go down. This problem has now gotten so bad in the last couple of weeks, that it hardly goes up, and then comes right down. Is this really bad problem or maybe a quick fix if I bring it in to a plow shop. Or maybe its not a big deal and someone can tell how to do this myself. Thanks for your time.
    If you have an idea, maybe you can speak in newbie terms:D

Last edited: Jan 24, 2004
  2. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation Senior Member

First check the hydraulic fluid.

3. fga

fga Member

You're gonna laugh, but I was told to look for a resavoir, and I can't find one. Is it self contained within the pump itself? once again, don't know any mechanics of it.

4. fga

fga Member

Or maybe someone can tell me Where is the fill cap on this model?

5. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation Senior Member

on the top of the pump where the piston raises there are 4 nuts.
    3 of them are the same, the 1 that looks different if the fill for fluid. ( on mine its either a 5/8 or 9/16) You should use the meyers blue fluid , but in a pinch transmission fluid will work.

6. poncho62

poncho62 Senior Member

Hi, I'm new also and also have an E47 Meyer plow.

The resevoir is built into the lift cylinder. The filler hole is right on top. It is a 7/16 fitting. It is a vented fitting. If you overfill the system, it will overflow out of here. Fill it with the cylinder all the way down.

7. fga