1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie-Cost Estimating

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by MikeMc, Jun 22, 2010.

1. MikeMc

MikeMc Junior Member

Good Afternoon Plowsiters,

I am a property manager (PM) in Chicago and I have been asked to take over management/bidding/negotiations for a few large buildings' maintenance contracts here in Chicago. In the past, our facility manager (FM) has bid these contracts, which included snow; however, our FM left last month and I have been asked to bid on these contracts. Also, we are looking to separate our FM from our snow removal contract, as our head PM thinks that we can find savings from companies that specialize in snow removal, rather than operations of the building.

Anyway, I have done many cost estimates in the past for other services, but I am finding it difficult to get a clear understanding of how this group of companies operates. I am sure the cost varies greatly depending on how much ground needs to be covered, how much snow there is and any other requirements for snow/ice removal. My problem comes in with the following:
    1) I do not know any labor costs for snow removal employees
    2) Is the cost based on an estimate of snow for the year? In the past, our contractors would take a flat fee based on a season and we would be required to purchase the "accessories" (salt, shovels, etc), but that type of contract seemed weird to me. Does anyone know of any good statistics on snow in the Chicagoland area? It would be good for me to estimate snowfall rather than "lump sum" our costs as we have a group of higher level investors that really likes numbers.