1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newb w/ Speedcast creeping down

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by nhxrunner, Nov 23, 2011.

1. nhxrunner

nhxrunner Junior Member

Hello all, complete newb here. I just purchased my first home this spring and it comes with a very long driveway. Got quoted $1000 to have it plowed by a professional and decided I'd rather buy a yard truck and do it myself. Well came across an 89 F350 dump body and jumped on it. Came complete with what I believe to be a fully hydraulic 8' or 9' Speedcast (from looking at photos). So my issue is when I lift the blade all the way up it slowly creeps back down. This problem only gets worse as the truck warms, operation slows considerably (but still functions). None of the rams are leaking and fluid levels are stable, so my guess fluid is bypassing a valve of some sort somewhere. Please keep in mind I have no previous experience with a plow, so hopefully some of the forum vets can coach me through this. Hoping there is a quick fix.

PS: I know how much it sucks to deal with newbies on a forum, I own one myself for Toyota X-Runners, so please bear with me. Thanks in advance for any and all help! Thumbs Up

2. chevyzrule810

chevyzrule810 PlowSite.com Addict

sounds like one of the solenoid valve coils is not activating properly the S1.Welcome to plowsite!

Last edited: Nov 23, 2011
  3. nhxrunner

nhxrunner Junior Member

Does this apply to a fully hydraulic and cable controlled system? If so you'll have to explain a little further or provide a diagram to refer to. Thanks Thumbs Up

4. sweetk30

sweetk30 PlowSite.com Addict

full hydro with cables then its the control valve unit .