1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New Truck/Plow (Not new to plowing) - Looking for advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Pokahpolice, Jun 11, 2015.

1. Pokahpolice

Pokahpolice Junior Member

Hi all - New to the forum and this is my first post so I'll start with a quick intro. My name is Bruce and I live in southern Maine. Long winters! I've been plowing for about 15 years but do not plow for a profit. I mostly just plow friends and family members for a small fee to cover my gas costs. I had some questions/concerns about my new setup and figured this may be the best place to come get some real world experienced opinions.

So, I just traded in my F350 Super Duty (46K and rusted out to the point of no return!!) for a Toyota Tundra. Lifted it 3 inches and put 35" tires on it. Sexy truck but not exactly built to plow. The dealer put a Fisher 7.5 HT series plow on it and I'm not super happy with it. Length isn't terrible but the thing is super short. When it's on the truck lifted all the way up, I literally can't see the top of the plow. I'd like to know if any of you have plowed with these and if there are any extensions available to make the plow taller? I've searched the interweb and only found a poly snofoil...I'd like something more in line with a steel snofoil but can't find anything. Any other suggested add-ons that may make cleaning up a few driveways a bit easier?

Thanks and sorry for the lengthy first post!

2. k1768

k1768 Senior Member
    from NJ

Welcome, there's a few guys on here running Tundras. I'll leave it to them to chime in, or you can do a search.

3. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

Plow markers aren't enough?