1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New Toolcat owner needs tips on snowblowing...

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by DEWFPO, Dec 20, 2008.

1. DEWFPO

DEWFPO Junior Member

A Toolcat newbie here so please go easy on me.

I've got plenty of experience using a front mounted snowblower on a 4WD tractor and I've got that down pat, but I'm having trouble setting the snowblower (72" SB-200) properly for a clean cut on an asphalt driveway.

The asphalt driveways I blow/plow are uneven front to back and side to side so a perfect scrape is impossible. With the tractor, the blower only had one pivot point, at the front of the frame where it attached. I adjusted the skids so that when I let the blower down into the float position, the snowblower's wear bar was right even with the pavement. This worked perfectly and I was able to get a clean scrape.

This Toolcat has 2 pivot points. The main boom and the rollback. I was never good at geometry so I'm at a loss here.

To get a clean scrape on the wearbar, I have the main boom all the way down & not floating, and the snowblower tilted forward (using the rollback) to scrap the pavement but that lifts the front of the Toolcat up a bit which reduces traction and it really scrapes along the ground (since my drives are so uneven), It's tough when I hit expansion joints and cracks in the pavement.

Putting the main boom in float appears to be worthless since the geometry is all off to allow the snowblower to float along the pavement.