1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to this part but not to snowplowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by cod8825, Nov 12, 2007.

1. cod8825

cod8825 Member

Let me give a short story about myself to help with your responses.

I have been shoveling snow for three years as a sidewalk crew as a subcontractor. It has payed very well and been extremely profitable for me. In a typical 1 to 4 inch snow I will make about 800 with only a 8 hour route if that so I can't complain. My only issue is that I put close to 100 miles on my truck per time. This year I will be responsible for about 40000 sq ft of sidewalks but there on accounts that are iffy in that we are not sure if they will use them every storm like the properties last year.

I have a snowblower and access to an ATV with plow. I am thinking about starting my own business with my own name. My insurance costs for an ATV for me are pretty low about 300 a year. I do not want the hassles and troubles of trucks and plows. I know what the market price for the Kansas City area for snow removal. Actually let me phrase that differently I believe that I know what they are.

My problem is and this is where I need your help. If you read books about starting businesses they talk about market research. What did you guys do when you started to make sure that your time was spent in neighborhoods that have as good a chance as possible for my services. Second if you had to do alot of selling what where some of the things you said to quote unquote seal the deal. Any other thoughts would be appreciated.

Sincerely,
    Matthew Case

2. YardMedic

YardMedic PlowSite.com Addict