1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New To The Snow

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by mtchockey30, Aug 27, 2009.

1. mtchockey30

mtchockey30 Member
    from MO

Hey guys I am new to the snow business. I am looking to get a plow for my 2004 super duty diesel extended cab short bed and I am looking for some advice on what kind of plow to get?? I have dealers I can get just about any brand at and am leaning toward a straight blade instead of a V but not for sure, and am not wanting to spend tons of money. I am also not set on new if I can find something used worth my while. I just want to know what you guys think especially if you have the same truck. I am also possible interested in a tailgate spreader..
    Thanks guys
  2. JohnnyRoyale

JohnnyRoyale 2000 Club Member

The blade you decide on all depends on what type of plowing you're going to get into. A v-blade is more efficient than a straight blade and although will cost you more up front will make you more money if paid per push or seasonal on commercial plowing. A plow with retractable wings is apparantly even more efficient. You can always put wings or sideplates on a straight blade-which would probably be your cheapest option. Hit 'search' as theres tons of info on here to help steer you in the right direction.
  3. Eyesell

Eyesell 2000 Club Member

If your just getting started a good place to search for a used blade is e-bay. The season is not quite started yet so this is the optimal time to start searching for used.

If you've never plowed before a straight blade is a good starter, I did that for a few years and them migrated to a Vee.

Just a thought
  4. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran