1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to the site....Questions

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Ole703, Nov 7, 2008.

1. Ole703

Ole703 Junior Member

Hi, I am brand new to the site. Snow plowing is nothing new to me. I have been a back up driver for a buddy for years. I have been in plow trucks, skid steers, and plowed with cat 910 front end loader. Total I have a solid two years experience. I have been poking around on here for the past few days. I like this forum. With that being said.

I am currently looking for a newer truck. I am thinking a 03-05 Chevy 2500hd with the 6.0. Id love to buy a diesel but I would kill it. I am in school right now and have no place to plug it in. Plus all the short distance driving I do. The warm ups and idle downs would kill me.

Plow setup:
    I have been talking with dealers. I am considering a boss v plow with all the goodies. I am leaning towards the 7'6". My plow dealer said I could run the 8'2" v plow but I am hesitant. When I head home I log roughly 75 miles of highway driving. I do not want a super heavy plow up front. I know boss makes a 8'2" v plow in poly. Is it substantially lighter than the steel version?

Am I crazy to try this venture?
    1.) I have two years of school left?
    2.) I have a part time job aside from classes?
    3.) I know a lot of guys have contracts set up for this season already.

Justification for me doing this:
    1.) I love plowing...always have and always will.
    2.) I have experience doing this and the hours is nothing new to me.
    3.) I am buying a truck either way.
  2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa