1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to the site/industry

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by chach, Sep 27, 2009.

1. chach

chach Junior Member
    from Chicago

Hey guys,

Didn't realize there was such a forum but I should've guessed, there's a forum for everything these days.

Anyway, I've never plowed before but I always thought it would be a lot of fun. I can drive all day everyday no problem, really have been a car fanatic/gear head since I was a little one.

I went to school and got my mechanical engineering degree thinking it would be easy to break into the auto industry designing cars, guess I graduated at the best possible time for that! So now, more than ever, I'm thinking it would be great to not be dependent on working for someone else.

My main problem is, I don't have the equipment to even start doing this kind of thing. I have an '06 base model toyota tacoma 4 cyl 5 speed 2wd pegleg - even if I got an LSD and snow tires I would probably be SOL, is that approximation about right?

So I was wondering, is it just a pipe dream for a newb to pick up a truck with a plow and actually make money at this sort of thing? Would anyone hire a greenhorn sub? It would suck to sell my truck, buy something with a plow, only to use it again for the daily grind and no actual work.

Also, are private messages enabled on this forum? Been looking through the FAQs and can't find anything on that...

Thanks for any help guys!

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Need 10 posts and 10 days as a member.