1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to the Site and the Business

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by MNPlow, Jan 2, 2002.

1. MNPlow

MNPlow Junior Member

Hello,

I am fairly new to the site (been reading the posts for a few days) and wanted to introduce myself. I am just getting into this business and am relieved to have found a source of such useful information.

I am starting up a lawn maintenance business and will do plowing as well given the lawn season is only about 8 months in the Minneapolis, MN area.

I will be using this site alot as I get going this winter, but would appreciate it if anyone is willing to share their top one or two pieces of advice you wish you had been given when you were a newbie.

Thanks in advance and I hope to be able to contribute something to the group soon.

Michael

2. BRL

BRL PlowSite.com - Veteran

Welcome to Plowsite!

Advice I was given as a newbie:

1. Sell that stupid hunk of steel hanging on the front of that truck you just bought!

I was too dumb to listen to that one though.

My advice after doing it for a few years:
    2. As a rookie, try to line up work as a sub with a larger contractor in your area to learn how to plow. Then use this site, &\or join SIMA to learn how to manage the business end of it to build your own business.

3. plowjockey

plowjockey PlowSite.com Sponsor

SIMA also sells a good training video "Basic Snow Plowing Techniques 101" Which could be of some help getting you satrted in a safe manner as well as having some hints about laying out lots etc.

You can find out info about SIMA and the video at www.sima.org

Welcome to plowsite and the business I wish you all the best with your new endeavor.