1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to the Industry

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Bigmurph, Nov 17, 2010.

1. Bigmurph

Bigmurph Junior Member

I'm new to the industry, just trying to get into some residential driveways this year. I have an 03 F250 with a 4000lb FAWR, I'm going to upgrade the springs to the plow prep x code springs and get either a 7'6 Fisher HD or a 7'6 Western Midweight Steel or the 7'6 Pro. Is that a good set up? Would it be worth the time and money?

2. pohouse

pohouse Senior Member

Its a good setup. Any of those plows would work for your truck, even without the spring upgrade. You might try to find a used plow to reduce your upfront cost. If your thinking of expanding to commercial down the road, I think the Pro plow is a better choice, more suited for commercial use.
    Is it worth the time and money? That depends on how much time your willing to sacrifice to get jobs and plow them. Don't expect to make a profit the first year. All the $ goes to pay off equipment and repairs usually. All the best.

3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

7 1/2's TOO small for your truck...even with wings

4. Bigmurph

Bigmurph Junior Member

You think that I should get an 8' plow? I see guys running 7'6's on F250's all the time. I am only going to be doing residential driveways I think the 7'6 is fine. But again I am new to all of this.

5. Bigmurph

Bigmurph Junior Member

You think that I should get an 8' plow? I see guys running 7'6's on F250's all the time. I am only going to be doing residential driveways I think the 7'6 is fine. But again I am new to all of this.

6. linycctitan

linycctitan Senior Member