1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to the game and wondering...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by ace10km, Jan 4, 2016.

1. ace10km

ace10km Junior Member

Hey guys, I'm new to the game and found this site and love it already. I spend the last couple hours browsing and getting familiar with the forum.

I work fulltime and want to work my way up to owning a snow removal company. Last year, I did quite a bit of gigs by hand with a shovel and it was very tiring on the body and super slow (30-60 min) per driveway. I only charged per visit so I only got called when things we out of control.

This year I am buying a snowblower. I'm actually picking it up today and I have a cargo van that I want to use to transport the snowblower. I may also be able to get someone to take care of the work while I'm at work and do my share on evenings and weekends.

People have been asking me for contracts quite a bit this year and I'm not sure how to structure things to make it work knowing that I work during the day and my helper is not always available.

Do you know I should continue doing it per visit until I can work on this fulltime or do you think there is a way to make it work early mornings, weekends and evening?

I'd like to work my way up and grow this slowly and I'm not sure how to do it.

An other option that I am considering is to sell leads in areas that are far from where I live and I was wondering if anyone had experience or an opinion about that. Thanks in advance for your help!

2. iceyman

iceyman 2000 Club Member