1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to the Business

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by stumpslawncare, Dec 19, 2006.

1. stumpslawncare

stumpslawncare Member
    from Indiana

I am completely new to the snow plowing business, I have been in lawn care for a few years now and have plowed for other owners, but have never been the one setting the prices. Where do I start, how much do you guys charge?

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

That's like asking - How much should I charge for mowing a yard? The answer - It depends. On your area, the the type of account, the difficulty of the area to be plowed, the time it would take to do and a number of other factors I'm likely not thinking about right now. Probably the best advice would be to think about what someone charged to plow drive and extrapolate that to the area you are considering. You might also just ask someone who plows in your area to help you or ask someone you trust what they're used to paying.

3. Ebbster

Ebbster Junior Member

I am relatively new to the snow and ice business but have secured contracts in the Louisville area for several hourly rates. Preseason contracts signed before Thanksgiving are $90 an hour; before Decmber 10 are $100 an hour; after December 10 with no snow on the ground is $117.50; and snow on the ground is $130. I suppose where you are dictates hourly rates. You may want to impose a minimal rate for just showing up if less than an hour is given.