1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New To Snow Removal

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by keepinitgreen, Oct 30, 2008.

1. keepinitgreen

keepinitgreen Junior Member

I'm new to the business and don't really know where to get started. I own a successful lawn care company that has plenty of insurance and a great name locally. I live in northwest PA in the lake Erie region so there is plenty of business and money to be made. I would like to start small and build from there so my main thing is residential work. I've never plowed before so i'd like to stick with a snow thrower for now and not spend 20k on equipment that I don't know how to use. Any help would be appreciated as for what I should look into buying as well as what services and pricing I should go with. I usually get about 50/hr with lawn care for residential jobs and about 40 for my commercial crew. I already have three residential customers with plenty more interested. Majority of driveways in town are smaller and can easily be done with a large snow thrower in 10-15 minutes. Like I said any help would be much appreciated so let me know what you think.

Thanks
    Josh Anthony
    Keepin' It Green

2. BlackIrish

BlackIrish Senior Member

Research the competition and find out what they offer and charge in YOUR area. The job is usually worth what the other guy,the competition, is willing to do it for, no one's gonna pay you more $$ cause your cute.
    Concentrate on a small area, get a small cabbed tractor w/blower that you can drive to all your sites. Use the tractor in the summer, now you can bid larger sites in the summer cause you got the tractor.
    My $0.02

3. keepinitgreen