1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to snow plowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by WaterWerks, Sep 10, 2015.

1. WaterWerks

WaterWerks Junior Member

Hello All,
    I'm new to plowing but have been in the landscaping business for the past 10 years.
    I guess my question is, how do I get parking lots, commercial lots? Do I just walk into potential stores and ask for the manager and solicit work? Do a mailer? Drop flyers?

I have a f150 with a 7 1/2" plow, GMC Serra with a 7 1/2" plow and going to purchase a S175 Skid Steer.

I'm willing to work with someone with more experience or take sub contracted work.

Thanks for any input..

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

I would suggest the first thing you should do is work for someone first.

3. andersman02

andersman02 Senior Member

Best to work for someone first. With the trucks you have, not sure how'd they'd hold up to commercial lots. Driveways might be better for those trucks.

Really though, If you have no experience, look for a local contractor and ask if they need any subs kind deal.

4. WaterWerks

WaterWerks Junior Member

Thats what I'm thinking, just trying to get my feet wet...

5. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Jumping into commercial snow removal
    A) for the first time
    B) with a 1500
    Not smart for getting your feet wet IMO

6. WaterWerks

WaterWerks Junior Member

I usually go to florida for the winter, figured with all the snow we've been getting over the past winters might be smart to stay and make some money..It can't be that hard..