1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to Snow Plow Business

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by LawnGuyLocal, Nov 5, 2014.

1. LawnGuyLocal

LawnGuyLocal Junior Member
    from owner

Hello,

I am new to the snow removal business this year. I have a TC30 New Holland 4x4 with a 5 ft bucket. I am lawn guy looking to move into snow removal. I have a few questions, and would like some feed back. Firstly, is it better to charge by the hour or push? Also, if one charges by the hour, whats a fair rate? Any techniques that would be helpful when moving snow?

2. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

Good luck with just a tractor and a bucket. It will be hard to do any job quickly and efficiently. Maybe put a blade on your loader arms. Customers don't want to pay by the hour, or what they perceive to be paying by the hour. They want to be charged by the push. So, figure out how long it will take you to do your driveway or parking lot, figure out how much you need to make per hour, and give them a number that way.

3. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Any techniques that would be helpful when moving snow?.

Really, you just "started" a plow business, but don't know how to actually plow? Start reading...like a lot of reading

4. BC Handyman

BC Handyman PlowSite.com Addict