1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to snow blowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by nhsnowguy, Nov 18, 2015.

1. nhsnowguy

nhsnowguy Junior Member

Hey Guys,

Did a search and found some old info and nothing updated and don't have the time to go through a bunch of threads so hoping someone can help me out.

I am new to snow blowing but not new to the industry. Been plowing for the better part of the last 15 years. We have recently been asked by many new clients to add snow blowing. I have a few questions so please bare with me. Any info/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

1. I am looking for some suggestions for a commercial quality snowblower mostly for residential driveways and walkways. My requirements are as follows. 1. Needs to be reliable. 2. Needs to be fast. Time is money. 3. Needs to be able to handle wet/heavy snow with ease. 4. It should be "easy and fatigue free as possible" to operate for long periods of time. I am looking for suggestions on width, hp, and add on options that would make the job easier/safer. What are some of the options you can't live without? Are you running lights etc? 5. I prefer something that is not a maintenance nightmare if possible. I want the best. Willing to spend accordingly.

If you were to snow blow a driveway vs plow the same driveway would you charge a different rate? Guessing its going to take longer to snow blow vs plow. (small residential driveway)

Any tips, tricks, things I should keep on hand to make the job go easier.

Thanks so much for your time.

2. jonniesmooth

jonniesmooth Senior Member