1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by lsylvain, Dec 3, 2002.

1. lsylvain

lsylvain Junior Member

Hi guys I've been doing lawn mant for 5 years now and have been thinking of getting into the snow business. I keep putting it off, but this year one of my accounts asked me to do their snow.

For $800 the job is mine.

Just the parking lot no sidewalks, although I'm sure they would give the the sidewalks too is I wanted them.

The lot is maby 300 yards long and 10 passes with the truck at the widest point. It looks to me that it wouldn't take long at all. So why have they been paying $800. Is there something I am missing, as far as costs involved, problems what would make the job worth $800?
  2. Acorn

Acorn Senior Member

$800 for each time you do it I hope.

Communication is key. sort out all details of expectations and responsibilitites before you start and then get it on paper
  3. jkkalbers

jkkalbers Senior Member

With a lot that long, it's not always as easy as it looks. even though its not that wide the snow will really build up when windrowing even in a 3" snowfall with a lot that long it would probably build up too much to take it one direction. You will have to take it at least 2 different ways. Also do they expect you to keep the snow up on the curb. Remember it will build up on the curbline and start coming into the parking lot. If thats the case you will need to haul it and dump it somewhere or what we do is have a skid steer with a 6' blower and we blow the snow up farther on the grass. I'm sure the $800 is reasonable but remember nothing is ever as easy as it looks. (Usually)
    Just my 2 cents. :D