1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to plowing

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by Mattsmom, Sep 2, 2008.

1. Mattsmom

Mattsmom Junior Member

I am new to plowing and need help. I have a 1985 Dodge Ramcharger 4WD 318 Engine and I am looking to put a plow on it. Nothing pretty something used but I don't know where to start. What size can my truck handle? I live in Connecticut so I don't get a ton of snow I just want to be able to do my driveway and maybe a neighbor. Thanks Laura
  2. bltp203

bltp203 Senior Member

Sounds like any 7.5 plow would work for ya.
  3. Mattsmom

Mattsmom Junior Member

If I buy any 7.5 plow say off ebay how will I know if it fits or ...I know nothing about these things so as much info as you can give me would be helpful. If a used plow comes off a Ford 150 would it attach to my Ramcharger...do I just buy a new mount that fits my truck?
  4. chcav1218

chcav1218 Senior Member

Your gonna have to look around to find an old style plow that will fit your truck. 7 1/2 or 8 feet should do. Try classified adds and call around to local scrap yards. Its definitly not a truck you want to put a new plow on.
  5. jjklongisland

jjklongisland Senior Member

Ok, I started out with the same truck when I first plowed and its a great platform to learn with. Tight steering, reliable, strong. My suggestion would be to find a used Meyer set up. Most of the Dodges of that era came with plows and most factory options were Meyer Set ups. A 7.5' Meyer with an E-47 pump will do just fine.