1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to Plowing!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by toast, Nov 17, 2007.

1. toast

toast Member

Hello everyone,
    I am new to plowing, but think it will be alot of fun. I just picked up and installed an 8' western uni-mount on my 2000 ford F350, and the front end is sagging quite a bit. The power steering pump is also whining...is that normal for the ps? The truck only has 38000 miles, so everything should still be good.

What is the best "leveling" kit for plowing? I found the Timbren site, are they the industry standard? I am tossing around the idea of getting insurance, and making some $$, but with no experience at all, I might just stick to mine, and my parents driveway for this year. Anyone looking for subs in St Paul?

Cheers,
    Mike

2. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

Timbrins make the truck ride ruff try air shocks or air bags, its a Ford the pumps whine. Too much whining is bad. SO how much you got???

3. elshauno

elshauno Member

Are you putting ballast in the back to make up for the weight in the front

4. toast

toast Member

I will look for air bags, thanks. We got the first dusting of snow this morning.....I assume you meant snow!

No, right now all I have is the front bumper in the bed! The western guide said have the hitch pins at 12-13" with the plow on, and I was at 9, I adjusted the undercarriage up all the way, and its almost 11", but the bumper will need some cutting tomorrow...How much ballast should I use?

5. toast

toast Member

BTW, nice sig PlowMeister! The reason I bought the truck was to pull my Jeeps!!

[​IMG]

6. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine