1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new to plowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by NLMCT, Nov 21, 2013.

1. NLMCT

NLMCT Senior Member
    from CT

i am new to plowing i have a small landscaping business and i would like to start offering snow removal... ive never bid on plowing and dont really understand how to bid i would do all residental houses... do you do all house with bid on a trigger any help will greatly be appreciated thank you

2. NBI Lawn

NBI Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

Home owners typically want a 2" trigger (or more). This is NOT a good idea. They drive on it, gets packed down and never melts. I would recommend a 1" maybe 1.5" trigger. Also I have found some home owners like to argue that they didnt need to be plowed. You may want to agree on a snow total reporting area close to their home, ie a local airport. This doesn't mean you get to sleep if the reporting location isn't reporting a trigger amount. That's when you may need to call the customer if you feel their location may have more and leave it up to them. Residentials can be a pain in the ass.

3. andersman02

andersman02 Senior Member

All of our residentials are 1" triggers as NBI stated.

3 different rates you can use, seasonal, per push, per event.