1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new to plowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by oppi2010, Feb 19, 2011.

1. oppi2010

oppi2010 Junior Member

hi im new to the plowing world. right now i sub for a company. next year i want to try and get some of my own accounts. i was just woundering what people figure for wear and tear on the trucks. i have a 2000 ford f250 with a 9 foot western thank
  2. cold_and_tired

cold_and_tired PlowSite.com Addict

Figure ball joints every year, bearings every 2-3 years, transmission replacement (not often but you never know), additional depreciation for having a plow on it. The plow will cost you $5-8 per hour to operate depending on it's age and how many hours you put on it.

After the maintenance, figure in your overhead, i.e. operator wages, fuel, insurance, payment, etc.
  3. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Yes there is wear and tear. How fast you need to replace depends how much of an idiot you are plowing. If you don't abuse the truck you can gets years out of it before replacing stuff.
  4. JTVLandscaping

JTVLandscaping Senior Member

6 years with my current truck, transmission, yes, wheelbearings yes, ball joints...not yet
  5. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

I have never had to replace ball joints yet. Of course I only keep my trucks for 3 to 4 years on average, before I sell them off, and look for a newer set-up.
  6. maverjohn

maverjohn Senior Member

constant PM on your truck and plow will keep you running all season long, sudden break downs are hard to plan for so keep the basic things on hand if you can, belts, hoses, fluid, ect, the part that beaks down is the one you don't have on hand. good luck.