1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to plowing, technical info help please!

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by R3Dside, Oct 8, 2011.

1. R3Dside

R3Dside Member

Im new to the snow plowing scene, and starting a business this year. (I know its easier to sub first but I run my own ship) I just picked up a used 7.6'' western today.
    What I was wondering is... Is it better to plow in 4 HI or 4 LOW? Or 2 HI until i need 4x4?
    Do i plow in OD, or OD off, 2 or 1? Any seconds to a response would be awesome, I need verification because a tired T-case and old tranny will not preferred to be messed with... :)

Also any insight you could give a beginner would be great. Im new, well read on the subject and ready to rock when the snow falls.

2. BossPlow2010

BossPlow2010 PlowSite.com Addict

For the lighter snow falls, I can just use 2wd, but I have a diesel plus half a ton of ballast. 4lo is not really needed IMO unless you are pushing piles. I mainly plow in 4 hi though and drive through town in 4 hi (just leave it on the whole storm) as for OD/ Tow/ Haul. If you want to, turn it on, but you don't have to.

some insight; unless you want to bust your teeth on your steering wheel, wear a seatbelt, tinted windows suck at night, a warning light is recommended, I like to have no less then 1/4 tank of fuel, bring some basic things in case you need to repair something (eg. socket set, flashlight etc..)

3. R3Dside

R3Dside Member

Thanks for the info. Wasn't aware it was just do what ever works, as I had caught wind of certain tranny/gear choices can mess up the truck.