1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new to plowing salt?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by pushingsnow, Dec 15, 2011.

1. pushingsnow

pushingsnow Member

ok so im new to plowing this year i have an 05 f250 superduty got it from munciple auction it is 2wd i have a western plow but i need to fix it and get it on my truck so that might not happen this year i got a snowbear plow cheap it only goes up and down dont turn side to side without getting out of the truck i plan to just plow with it straight unless i have to turn it i dont know if i want to put a salt shaker on the truck and rust it out im thinking about a walk behind how would it work put in some comments for me help me message text or call 815 822 1247

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Sorry I don't think you are preperred for plowing this year. Truck will be good as a salt truck only.

3. NICHOLS LANDSCA

NICHOLS LANDSCA PlowSite Veteran

I'd take the truck and sell it for a 4x4, there are guys that say they plow in 2wd with ballast and never put the truck in 4wd I call BS. I'm not saying you can't use a 2wd to plow but what happens when you push just a little further and the front tires drop off the parking lot into the grass:realmad:

4. wizardsr

wizardsr PlowSite.com Addict

Hogwash, 2wd plowing works just fine, just ask this guy...
    http://youtu.be/cwiKPiNCdq8

5. dfd9

dfd9 PlowSite.com Addict

You might be OK plowing salt with that rig, but it ain't going to work for snow.

6. Puddle of Oil

Puddle of Oil Member