1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new to plowing...please help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by firebug130, Feb 7, 2006.

1. firebug130

firebug130 Member

I am new to the snow plowing world! I run a small lawn service and have about 10 small parking lots to plow and salt. I have a 1999 Toyota Tacoma Ext cab 4x4 v6 TRD. I am having alot of trouble finding a small plow for this application. I can not afford to spend 4-5k on a new set up. I have been looking on ebay and such for a complete unit, however I know that I would have to find a mounting bracket for my truck. THis is my problem. I have contacted several dealers about this and I can only find one that will sell me a new unit, again , out of my price range at about 5k. I am not loyal to any company , I just want to be able to find a used set up , buy it and know that I can purchase a new mounting bracket afterwards. We don't get alot of snow in ky , but I would like to be prepared. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. douglasl330

douglasl330 Senior Member

Try posting this under the small truck section! Tons of guys with experiance in smaller trucks--ie Toyota --may lead you in the right direction. Did you check the for sale section of this forum?
  3. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

you might be better off to look for an older truck with a plow already on it.you can find a mid 80's ford or chevy with a plow for around 1500 or a mid 90's for about 2500-3000.
  4. firebug130

firebug130 Member

I will post this in small truck and check out for sale , thank you.
  5. Idealtim

Idealtim Senior Member