1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to plowing.... need some pointers

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Emeraldturf1013, Nov 10, 2010.

1. Emeraldturf1013

Emeraldturf1013 Junior Member

I am a lawn care business owner that does fertilizing and landscaping and looking to get into the snow plowing gig, but I really don't know a"lot about it, or what to expect (hidden expenses).
    I have a 2003 GMC 2500 HD, and so far I have interest from customers in plowing for them. Probably about 50/50 residential, commercial. Here's my first issue. What to do for a plow. I am short on cash, so I was going to buy used, and/or trade some equipment for a plow setup. I have a person interested in trading my spray tank (worth around 2000) for a 97 western unimount 7'6". Is this too small for my truck? What else should I look for? I was looking in the 2000- 2500 dollar range for the entire plow set up then another 400 for mounting. Any other advice would be appreciated as well.

2. ajslands

ajslands 2000 Club Member

I believe a 7'6 is too small, but you can put wings on it so you are able to clear your wheel wells. I think you need 8'

3. KMBertog

KMBertog PlowSite.com Addict

7'6" is too small for that truck... Either go bigger straight blade or maybe invest a little more in a "V" setup of some kind. Best of luck!

Keith

www.bertoglandscape.com

4. TF123456

TF123456 Junior Member