1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to plowing - guidance?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by JFon101231, Dec 23, 2008.

1. JFon101231

JFon101231 Senior Member
    from CT

Hello all,
    I'm new to having a plow (and a truck). I picked up a '95 C3500 (2wd) w/ a dually rear which came with a (assumed based on the pump) Meyer 7.5' electric plow. I did my driveway this past storm, and my in-laws and neighbors driveway. I'm learning as I go, but looking for advice on how to do this as quickly and efficiently as possible.

My driveway is odd shaped... Go to www.mappoint.com and look at the birds eye view for my house. Type in 119 Lily Pond Rd, Griswold, CT and go to the house just on the NE corner of the pond. To complicate things, there is always going to be a car parked outside b/c we have 3 cars + the truck and obviously only 2 garage spaces.

So, tips on how to plow really. It seemed based on my in-laws driveway that having the plow straight across scrapes better than angled. So do I do one pass with it straight and then angle it and do one more (1 angled each way) to clean up? Seems like that will take more time than the pros would do. The biggest problem I have is getting in front of the garage cleared because the "approach" angles aren't good b/c the idiots did a crappy job designing the driveway IMO. So I ended up with a good size patch I needed to shovel, which I'm trying to avoid. I tried to "back drag" I think its called but it didn't work that great since I was only using gravity, and I can't go onto the grass backing up b/c no 4wd, so I have to back up at an angle.