1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to plowing, buying a dodge

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by dsnowdude, Oct 11, 2004.

1. dsnowdude

dsnowdude Junior Member

Hey Gentlemen,
    I am new to the forum. I am getting ready to start my fifth year in the lawn care industry. This year I have decided to offer snow plowing as a service. I have about 5 commercial account committments which total to over $2000 per pop. I guess that is not bad for a few hours of work, but I am still learning the ropes on bidding.

Anyway, The real question I have is that it is time for a new truck.
    I test drove an 05 3500 Ram dually, manual, cummins 6 speed. I was really impressed with the acceleration that thing had in 6th gear, let alone the power in the low gears. Honestly the thing I like best is the 7 year 70k warranty that Dodge offers. Could you guys give me some advice here? Are duallys (this has limited slip) ok for plowing, or should I stick with a SRW. Are one tons necessary or will the Dodge cummins 2500 do the trick? Should I buy an auto or manual trans? Will the 3500 or 2500 need any beefing up for a plow? I am planning on using a year old Western 8' plow. Sorry to ramble here. My other posts won't be so long. I would appreciate any advice.
    Mike

Last edited: Oct 11, 2004
  2. salopez

salopez Senior Member