1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to plowing and have questions about ultramount

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by TurfSolutionsMN, Sep 27, 2008.

1. TurfSolutionsMN

TurfSolutionsMN Senior Member
    from MN

Hey everyone I am new to using trucks for commercial snow removal. I have been doing so removal for 10 years just doing sidewalks, driveways and subbing out lots. This year I am doing everything on my own. Last fall I bought a new Blizzard 860SW and a month ago bought a '01 Ford F250 w/ a Western 7.5 Pro ultramount. I decided today to go work on it. I hooked it up to my truck and the plow always stays on one side of the pivot bar when raised, so one side is always higher then the other,is this normal or is there something wrong. Also I just want to say thanks to everyone for making this such a great site.

2. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

are both your chains hooked up properly and of equal length? as im sure you know, when the plow is rasied , and angled the side closet to the truck , will be lower than the other - this is true for all plows

but while straight should be the same - i would check your chains

3. TurfSolutionsMN

from MN

The first thing I ckecked was the chains. They both are the same length from the A- frame. The blade does this even when in the straight mode.

4. elite1msmith

from chicago

let me ask you this....

is yor light stand level , both side to side and up&down?

if your light stand is leaning to one side, (as in a bent mounting frame) that will cause it.