1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to me Chevy Plow/salt setup

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by gunsworth, Dec 13, 2008.

1. gunsworth

gunsworth Senior Member

01 2500HD LS 6L. Had to swap on the Boss 7.5 (only has 2 light seasons on it) and the spreader from his other truck. Also have a Truck Craft dumper for it that will go back on in the spring.

Im new to Chevy's any thing I should check out on it?

[​IMG]

2. tls22

tls22 PlowSite Veteran

Real nice ste-up...good luck this season!

3. PTSolutions

PTSolutions PlowSite.com Addict

our 02 has been pretty stout, gas mileage sucks. had to replace both window motor regulators and a blower motor resistor, cracked exhaust manifold. thats it pretty much. its just stupid little things that like to go wrong, nothing big really.

4. gunsworth

gunsworth Senior Member

yeah the mileage was a tad disappointing. And I already started trakin down a resistor (figured that is what is causing my heat to not work below 3, had the same prob in my jeep).

I did think i heard an exhaust leak so I will have to check the manifold.

5. Krieger91

Krieger91 Senior Member

The newer Chevy's, like the older ones, that I've worked on have all been stout, good vehicles. Usually just minor crap. Keep up on general maintanence (sp?) and you should be alright.

6. Supper Grassy

Supper Grassy Senior Member

nice truck

7. PTSolutions

ya our heater would not work below 4. oh i forgot, we had a bad ac compressor, the turbine shattered and sent little pieces of metal all throughout the ac system. that was fixed for $1k.