1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to commercial plowing....

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by beanz27, Dec 22, 2012.

1. beanz27

beanz27 Senior Member

Well I found this site, and I'm amazed at how much knowledge is here. I know what your thinking, another 19 year old. I don't know it all and I realize it, so I'm mature enough to realize that lol. Anyways I've been pushing snow with machinery for 7-8 years, and the last 2 years with plow trucks, this year I've started working for a commercial snow removal company in Mankato MN.

They use trucks with 3 types of plows (Straight blade, V, and C), and skidloaders with 8 ft snow buckets. I've been thinking of doing it myself for the last year or two, and I will probably start my own on the side next year, wanted to get experience first.

Anyways...my questions:

1. Which is faster/better for large lots, a large snow bucket, or a box pusher?

2. Large lots again, Skid loader, or Payloader?

3. For driveways and smaller lots, should I take the wings off of my straight blade?

4. As far as backdragging, do you need a backdrag blade to do it, or can you get by with just backdragging it normally?

Also, is there any specific DO NOT DO things that I should know about?

Edit:

My equipment:

92 F250 Single cab long box 5 speed 128,000 8.5' Western Pro with wings total width 9' 4"

93 F250 Single cab long box Auto 176,000 8' Western

I also farm, so I have access to large loaders and skidloaders etc.

Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
  2. ducaticorse

ducaticorse PlowSite.com Addict
    from we

1. Depends, most cases pusher
    2. Depends, size of lot/detail work
    3. Depends, size of your plow/size of driveway