1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to commercial plowing

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by TGM LLC, Aug 11, 2010.

1. TGM LLC

TGM LLC Junior Member

Hey all, I have been plowing for 2 years now and have a chance to quote a town house complex and have no idea on pricing it. I have been doing all resi and small business lots. Last year threw me for a loop and want to prepare better with quoting. Do you do 1-2" 1-3" 3-6' 6-9" ? how do you price salt by the pound? Square footage? I have an arial of the place so I think I can go off that. My equipment is 2 3/4 ton 4x4 pickups with plows 2 simplicity blowers, atv with plow Kubota diesel 4x4 tractor with plow and a JD 410 loader.

2. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

Welcome to plowsite. Use the search button as most if not all of the questions you've posted on your First post have been answered over and over. Theres many ways to price accounts.......But my first question to you is...DO YOU KNOW YOUR COSTS? Figure out what EVERY expense for your plowing biz is going to be... once you know that figure, that figure goes into an hourly figure......tack on your profit margin and bingo... you've got your rate per hour too charge... rates will vary by region but as the contractor you should be shooting for $100+ per hour for plowing...... I think I've got you started, lets see if others will chime in...
  3. RLM

RLM PlowSite.com Addict