1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to commercial plowing and need input

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by D&FServices, Sep 17, 2011.

1. D&FServices

D&FServices Junior Member

I want to start off by saying I'm not sure if I should have put this here or in the "Elements Of Business" forum but since I'm new I'll give it a whirl. Back in the spring I started thinking about doing some plowing this winter. I am doing some lawn mowing and yard work on the side from my "real" job and thought plowing would be a good idea for the winter time. I've got some experience as I plow the lots and sidewalks at my "real" job. Here's my question.

I've run the gauntlet over the summer getting a "EIN" number from the feds, a local business license, a business checking account, Registering the business with the state, getting some over priced general liability insurance that includes "Completed Operations" which is what I had to have to cover slips and falls which turned out to big a slight mess as well as a shock when I got the price tag for that. Anyhow I believe I've covered the most of the paperwork end of things and just need to get some spare parts for the western plow I have. Other than a good bid sheet format to use when submitting bids have I missed anything on the "office" end?