1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New to commercial clearing??? Questions???

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Kidder, Sep 27, 2009.

1. Kidder

Kidder Junior Member

I was just awarded 6 commercial lots from a person that I know. This is my first time doing commercial. I have done residential for 11 years. This year I bought a Bobcat S250 after I found out about the contracts that I was getting. I have to meet the property managers to discuss some particulars. What should I ask about or what do I need to know about to make this go smooth. My main concern is where to pile snow, at what point do I remove the snow, time frame for clearing and billing and payment details. Are there other issues that I should be covering. Thanks fof the information.

2. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

How big are the lots, what do you have for equipment?

3. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

All of those questions should have been answered before you did the bid?... How can you bid the site correctly if you don't have all the info?

4. terrapro

terrapro PlowSite Veteran
    from MI

It sounds like you fell into some money, lucky you.

Although these things should have been taken care of beforehand I am sure we can still help.

Talk with the managers and get some info locked down, then measure the lots and take into consideration obstacles and concerns like handicap areas. While you are there drive the place out like you would be if you were plowing and time it out then you can base your flat rate price off a per hour charge.

It is much easier for us to help if you supply some birdseye maps.