1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new to buisness can i get alittle help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by DAVID1963, Nov 18, 2007.

1. DAVID1963

DAVID1963 Member

i am not new to plowing but am new to plowing as part of my own business and wondering if anyone in pennsylvania can help me with what i should charge for basic drive ways and comercial lots, i just want some basic pricing for pa plowing and for salting if possible,also snow blowing. I would appreciate any help!!! thanks.

2. ondagawood

ondagawood Senior Member

Call around your area and get a list of quotes and make up your own prices. Thats what I did this year because I'm new to this also.

Good luck............. payup

3. DAVID1963

DAVID1963 Member

i tried that and everyone wants an address to come out and give a quote,all i want is some basic tips on what to charge in this area and everyone acts like they are afraid to tell you because you might step on their toes....i would never do that as i would not want it done to me.

4. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Anyone can tell you there price. But what does it mean to you?
    Seriously.

We do not know your overhead, only you.
    You need to sit down and crunch some ##
    You say you are not new to plowing so how much$$ does take to run your truck an HR?
    maintaince.
    wear and tear.
    INS.
    etc.etc..

How much do you need to make?
    I could tell you that I charge X for drives.
    You start to also charge X but at the end of the year you lost money, How could this be.

Exampel;
    If It costs you $50hr to opperate.
    Materials X 3 or 50X3=$150hr