1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New Swenson sander...please help

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by jbvictory, Dec 11, 2012.

1. jbvictory

jbvictory Junior Member

Hey all, I am fairly new to plowing (this is my second season with a truck) but i have been doing snow removal for ten years (walks and driveways with shovels and blowers). This year we landed a really large account (approximately six-seven acres of parking) so I decided to buy a sander for the truck. After a little research and talking to other guys I went with a Swenson Tailhawk 750. The complex will not allow us to use salt or liquid deicer because it gets tracked in to their offices and ruins their carpets, so I am forced to use straight sand. I loaded it up for the first time yesterday and was sorely disappointed in the performance, I have the vibrator kit and the sanding auger and it basically clogged right off the bat and took about two hours to get it unloaded (between hand unloading, vibrating, banging on the tub)...needless to say I am a little frustrated. The thing was over $2700.00 installed, so I just assumed it would do what it said. The material was clean washed sand and it was damp but by no means wet (the pit we get it from is outdoors so we will never get 100% dry sand). I am just looking for any ideas on what others do, any tips or help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
  2. merrimacmill

merrimacmill PlowSite.com Addict
    from MA