1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new plow for new chevy

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by sprintlawncare, Jan 14, 2003.

1. sprintlawncare

sprintlawncare Junior Member

i'm brand new to plowsite as of about 5 minutes ago. forgive me if this has been asked before but i have a '02 1/2 ton extended cab, Z-71, 4x4 and i'm thinking about putting a plow on it. i'm looking for the best, most affordable plow my truck will handle. thanks for the input and advice.

2. mdb landscaping

mdb landscaping Senior Member

i plowed with a 00 silverado z71 and had a 7.5 ft fisher on it. cant go wrong with a fisher.

3. wyldman

wyldman Member

Snoway makes a good plow,which is fairly light and has downpressure to help it scrape better.Western and Fisher also make excellent plows.

I would take a look around in your area and see what others are running and what dealers are nearby.Choose something that you can easily get parts and service for,when you really need it,in the middle of the night.Having the best plow in the world is no good to you if it's down waiting for parts.

4. OffRoadPlow

OffRoadPlow Senior Member

Welcome to the site first of all. As to your question, you should read "She's a half ton w/ a saggy front end!" Post, it should help with some of your questions, or it might just confuse the heck out of you.. :D , Some key points, Don't get more plow than you have truck, on a 1500 its not a bad idea to upgrade the suspension to handle more, and pray for snow....

5. Grshppr

Grshppr Senior Member