1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New or used plow? what size? make?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by nolanb, Oct 22, 2008.

1. nolanb

nolanb Junior Member

I have a 2004 chevy silverado, crew cab 6.0 and i want to put a plow on it. I'm totally new to plowing, did way too much shovelling last year time to upgrade.
    I am having a hard time deciding to buy a new plow or to find a used one. I'm a cheap sob and I would like to spend the least amount of coin possible. if i can find a good deal on a used plow how do i know if it will fit the truck, how or were to install it etc.
    Any advice?
  2. sno commander

sno commander PlowSite.com Addict
    from ct

how much money are you willing to spend? you can probally get a new blizzard straight blade for probally 3600-3800. if not you could find a decent used western or fisher for around 2k, even if it came off a ford or dodge youll be able to get a new wiring harness to fit your rig same for the mount hope this helps.
  3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

First thing to check is dealer support and service in your area.
  4. nolanb

nolanb Junior Member

i am in the toronto area and everything seems a bit more expensive than what i've been reading on the forums. i've been thinking about shooting across to buffalo to get set up
  5. linycctitan

linycctitan Senior Member