1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New opertator looking for information

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by kojak, Mar 27, 2003.

1. kojak

kojak Member

I hope I don't offend anyone, but I've never used one of these forums before.

I'm a heavy equipment operator, and usually spend my summer's building roads, and my winter's either building oilfield leases or cut lines. but the last few winters have been bad, leaving me on poggy.

I'm looking to keep busy, and I noticed that the only people doing snow clearing are kids with shovels.

I live in a small town in northern Alberta, Canada.

After looking at some of the other advice for people looking to break in, I still have some questions.

- How to market to a virgin area (pop 2700 in town + 2200 in county)
    - How to figure prices.
    - Is this feasible if I'm working full time when I should be trying to sign contracts.

Any useful advice is welcome.

Thanks.:confused:

2. Jerre Heyer

Jerre Heyer Senior Member

Welcome to plowsite

Kojak,

Welcome. Hope you find lots of help here.

If you don't have many plow operators there you are in position to market without alot of competition.

Sell service and be sure to remember to figure time required to clean in light and heavy snows.

Contracts can take as little as a few minutes and as long as years to put together. Take it one at a time while you have time off or in the evenings and weekends.

Be sure to decide when you need to take time off to plow snow and have it available or hire operators to do it for you.