1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New, keen, ready to learn with truck.

Discussion in 'Employment' started by TOFireguy, Jan 20, 2009.

1. TOFireguy

TOFireguy Junior Member

Hello everyone,

I am a Career Firefighter for the City of Toronto that resides in the Whitby area and has a lot of free time in the winter. I have been considering getting into the snow removal business for a number of years and I am now in a position to begin that process.

I have a 2008 Ford F250, no plow, no experience, but a very strong work ethic. Looking for any input, willing to start working now!

Ideally I am looking at equipping my truck to plow, but what would the suggestions of the masses being that I'm starting mid way through the snow season. Would purchasing a plow and doing sub work be worth while at this point ?

Sorry if my questions are redundant.... been looking though the site for a few hours now and while I've already answered a lot of my questions on my own, I figured I'd introduce myself and ask some questions specific to my situation.

Thanks to everyone in advance and great site!

Dave.

2. W.F.D. Plower

W.F.D. Plower Member

Hey TOFireguy, the best thing to do is talk to some local plow companies and ask them if they are looking for any help. They might even take you out in their trucks and show you some tips if they need backup drivers. If I were to put a new plow on my truck I would go with the V-plow.
    I'm also a career firefighter in Woodstock.

3. TOFireguy

TOFireguy Junior Member

Hey Brother, thanks for the advice.

I was looking at the Boss V Plow but also the Blizzard 810. What are your preferences/ benefits you see for the V Plow?

Thanks.

Dave.

4. fisher guy