1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New in Business - Need Help Building Customer Base

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by SLS007, Nov 28, 2007.

1. SLS007

SLS007 Junior Member

Hi there everyone. I'm new in the snow removal business and am doing this for some winter work to help make the lease payments on my tractor which I will also be using in the other 3 seasons for rototilling and mowing. I do this part-time in the evenings and weekends as I work full-time during the day as a Commercial Insurance Underwriter. My main marketing focus was going to be flyers in a very limited area - want to work in my community within maximum radius of one mile from my home which is located in an upper middle class neighbourhood. Sounds great but here's my problem. Most of the homes in my area do not have mail boxes as mail is picked up at centralized stations throughout the neigbourhood and doorknob hangers have been limited in effectiveness due to strong Winter winds.
    I'm only looking to pick up about 10-12 good customers on a call-out basis - not monthly contract as that is probably the most I can handle in the time that I have available in evenings and with the equipment I have. I want to be able to drive the tractor directly to the homes rather than loading it up on my trailer and hauling it from site to site as this is too much additional time to secure the load properly and then the additional cost of running the gas guzzling van for the evening thereby burning up the profits.
    I'm using a Kubota BX2350 compact utility tractor with a 50" Buhler Farm King 3pt snowblower.