1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New idiot needs help with a plow....

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by mjp2, Dec 30, 2009.

1. mjp2

mjp2 Junior Member

First off, hi. I'm new here, sent over from my friends over at The Diesel Place forum. I'm not new to plowing, plowed for someone about 5 yerars ago, but I am new to owning my own plow. It's the one in my signature, just took it off my dad's truck this fall and put it on mine. (he sold his truck). He bought the plow used, and always had this problem. What's happening is when I take the plow off the truck, I have to put a length of pipe from the middle of the blade up to one of the corners of the plow light bar, because it wants to fold itself up. That's how my dad remedied this, but after one time hooking up and coming within a short hair from having a pipe shaped hole in my radiator, I'm gonna fix this thing right. Now I figure it's something in the lift part of the hydraulics, just looking for some insight into this and where to start before I start throwing money at parts that aren't the problem. Thanks for any help.

2. been there done that !!!!