1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new here...need some help

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Moose's Mowing, Oct 7, 2012.

1. Moose's Mowing

Moose's Mowing Senior Member
    from SE PA

I'm new to PlowSite. I just came over from Lawnsite. I started a small property maintenance company this past year. I'm a school teacher and do this part time but I'm legit with licensing and insurance. This summer was a little slower than I had hoped, but being brand new, I got all of my mowers and other equipment paid for and I'm hoping to break even this year after all my other expenses. That means next year will show me a much higher profit. But I'm trying to gain more customers and it's not so easy. I'm up to about 10 mowing customers.

A few have approached me about plowing this winter. I told them probably not, but I'd consider getting set up for it. I have a 2004 Chevy 2500 as my work/personal truck and I'm considering putting a used plow on it. The main reason is to keep my current customers satisfied and not allow some larger company come in to plow, then steal my mowing contracts from me. Also, I see plowing as a potential to gain more mowing customers for next season. Not to mention give me some added cash flow to my little business venture over the winter.

I'm looking at a used Meyer set up that came off a 1990 Ford pickup, but the plow set up is newer than the truck was. Everything is there but ti make it work on my Chevy I understand I'll need a lighting wiring harness and a truck mount for a chevy. So my first question is...is 7'6" wide enough for residential driveways and does Meyer make decent equipment? Any suggestions on installing?