1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New here, my "car plow"

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by carplowguy, Jan 7, 2015.

1. carplowguy

carplowguy Junior Member
    from none

Greeting's I just joined and this is my first year plowing. I have been working on my plow project in my spare time for nearly 3 years and finally got it all done this fall.

My blade is made from an old propane tank I cut up. All the bracing, arms etc are old car parts and all the pins are made from old steering parts. I mounted it on my 2000 Dodge Neon which I modified the frame and suspension on to handle the stress of plowing. It is a stock 2.0 SOHC engine and 5speed which works well for plowing. I do have special traction rings I built for it that attach to the front wheels for added traction but unless we get a real heavy dump it does fine with just snow tires.

Currently I just plow for myself but I have a large farm site I have to maintain so I have put about 10hrs on the unit already this season.

Oh and I'm from Alberta Canada if you wondered.

Hopefully the picture I uploaded attached, if not check back later.

2. carplowguy

carplowguy Junior Member
    from none

A pic of it in action...

3. carplowguy

carplowguy Junior Member
    from none

Not sure why it is upside down, was right side up.
  4. carkey351

carkey351 Senior Member

are you from davids farm??? lol. j/k. seems like you built it right, but why mount on a car?? especially a neon that has about 2" or 5.08cm of clearance?
  5. 512high

512high Senior Member

wether i agree with this or not,i must say alot of people on this site are very talented and resourceful...great job!
  6. carplowguy