1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new guy

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by 90Tbird, Nov 23, 2009.

1. 90Tbird

90Tbird Junior Member

This will be my first year plowing, I'm using a ford f 250,and 8 foot meyer, I just recently set everything up and pretty well winterized the vehicle. I'm looking to do most of my plowing the the commercial business sector, however this being my first year, i really have not got the whole pricing thing down. I understand that because its my first year i might not be the greatest plow guy, but im not going to undersell myself for my work. That being said, I was almost laughed at when I told some of my prices. I'm not sure if im overcharging or if im being screwed around with or if someone else is lowballing? Any tips for the new guy?
  2. MileHigh

MileHigh PlowSite.com Addict

What are your prices and we will let you know.

To tell you the truth...everyone says that only you really know your true prices, and what you'll turn a profit off of.

But I think that's BS....cause when your bidding against other vendors, that can change. Plus there is a "market rate" that you need to consider in formulating your pricing scheme.
  3. 90Tbird

90Tbird Junior Member

so this is a real quote that I gave, and rejected. For an approximately 2000 sq/ft lot pretty straight forward, not too many obstacles. I said 85$ per snow fall under 6 inches. this prices does not include salt or sand.
  4. MileHigh

2000 Sq Ft?

Dude...I could shovel that with a 16" shovel in 10 minutes.
  5. wdcs1

wdcs1 Member

Them's Canadian $
  6. 90Tbird

90Tbird Junior Member

lol, my mistake its 5000 sq/ft, it happens.
  7. MileHigh