1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New Guy Needs Advice/Work

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by carpenter0090, Dec 7, 2010.

1. carpenter0090

carpenter0090 Junior Member

Hi, I have been considering the purchase of a new or used plow. I am a home improvement contractor in Suffolk co NY. Work get slow in the winter so I'm looking to generate some extra money in the winter. So the plow I have been looking at would be a Boss 8' super duty. I have a 06 dodge ram 2500 quad cab diesel 4x4. Does any one have any thoughts on A this type of set up and B where to locate some work. ussmileyflag

2. b&b landscapes

b&b landscapes Member

good luck in your venture..... do your research on plows thru manufacturers before deciding..... i have a meyer and love it, if your slightly mechanically inclined they are easy to work on..... and most inportant to you and any newbie in the plowing industry DONT BE A LOWBALLER..... problem with new people coming in is they lowball everyone else and drive the market price for snow removal down because all they want is quick easy money..... this profession is not for someone who cant afford to pretty much carry themselve thru a winter to begin with.... damage is always a given and repairs are costly.... start with residential and if that works for you then let word of mouth spread (AND IT WILL) but dont go out trying to beat another company out because it only costs you in the long run....

please take this advice and be fruitful

3. carpenter0090