1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New Ford Owner

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by jlmac, Nov 24, 2001.

1. jlmac

jlmac Junior Member
    from Maine

I recently took delivery of an '02 F-350 diesel. After much research I think this truck will outperform its Chevy equivalent (if there is such a thing). The truck has a fisher 8.5 v plow. I could use all the advice I can get, both general use and plowing, on all the various tricks and tips on this truck. I've been plowing commercial properties for about 15 years with Chevy 2500 & 3500 with fisher plows, first Ford in 20 years.

Thanks

John

------------------------
    No snow in sight

2. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

Looks like you have good experience plowing. My only tip would be to be careful now that you have so much more power then the old Chevies you ran. You can push a lot of snow and a lot of other stuff with a Ford.

3. plowking35

plowking35 2000 Club Member
    from SE CT

I am sorry but I just cant see how the PS and fords auto tranny could outperform the Duramax with an allison. What you need to be carefull with that truck is not to grenade the tranny pushing snow. Change the fluid 2x a year in the tranny and you might be ok.
    Dino

4. Dockboy

Dockboy Guest

jlmac ,

Congrats on the new truck

:D

You didn't say what configuration it is(reg. cab, supercab, crewcab, long or short bed).

If it came with the plow pkg. then you already have the X code front springs. If it didn't, GET SOME!

Also, look into some Monroe Muscle's or Timbren's for the front. They help alot.